Welcome 2014

Wow, it’s been a while since I’ve blogged. I was picking up some momentum…and then my laptop died. Argh! Thankfully my back-ups were doing what they were supposed to, and it had backed up the night before the laptop said goodnight!

Which also means that I’ve now got 8 weeks of 2013 (plus a few more?!?) to catch up on!

But onwards and upwards, I say. 🙂

I’ve had a fairly full-on couple of weeks and it hasn’t been until now that I’ve had the energy or the motivation to actually touch anything creative or crafty. But the creative bug struck and I’ve been able to finish a couple of pages of my 2014 Project Life album.

Here’s my title page which I’m really happy with. I’ve seen a few pages which had the four photos through the middle so this was my starting point. Even though I generally don’t use the Becky Higgins core kits (even though I have about 5 of them!), I’ve been been using Midnight quite a lot. I like the clean look and simple colour palette which I can alter to suit my style.

2014 Title pageI liked the idea of a snapshot of a person right now, so I added those to the bottom row. My husband’s one is quite silly, but I think it’s reflective of who he is! 🙂

Added a few wood veneers (which seem to be multiplying and when I go through my stash I find more!) and a few Amy Tangerine puffy stickers. Done. And Done.

Onto week 1! Here is the full spread. We headed down to Rotorua for the first weekend of the year and got a few good photos of the activities we got up to. When I was planning my album, I was flicking through the past years albums and liked the spreads where white was predominantly used with a few pops of colour from embellishments. So, I spent a morning cutting out lots of little journalling spots and tags on the Silhouette Cameo (love that machine!) as well as a few printables (here I’ve used the free one from Studio Calico). I based my colour scheme for this spread on the colourful sign behind the kids on the right hand side.

DSC_7047Here’s a close up of the left hand side. Lots of die cuts, enamel dots and the Studio Calico printables.

week 1 LHSAnd the right hand side. Used a filler card from the Honey core kit which fit in nicely with the colour scheme and the photos. 🙂 I like using sequins but I’m not sure they like me! I find it hard to place them so they don’t look like they just got stuck by mistake. So in a row they go! I also used some of my favourite Amy Tangerine puffy stickers…so cute.

week 1 rhs

And if that wasn’t enough creativity for one week, I’ve also been making some cards! This card is my favourite. It’s based on a few cards I’d seen in some galleries along the way and used it as a base for this card. I cut the background out on the Cameo, then backed them with some scraps I had. The banner was actually a mistake from my Cameo cutting session (too big, the blade was in the wrong place etc) but I managed to resurrect it for this card! The stamping of the sentiment isn’t quite perfect but I figure its the beauty of handmade, right? The background is a paper from the Dear Lizzy Lucky Charm range, which is beginning to grow on me. It was a bit too girly for my liking but for this card, it was perfect!

heart sing cardThat was a bit of a monster post! Thanks for reading. I hope your 2014 got off to a creative start too!

About she's craftily...

I'm a graphic designer, mum, crafter, Project Lifer, photographer and generally a dabbler in anything and everything. This is where I show you what I've been up to.
This entry was posted in craftiness, Project Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Welcome 2014

  1. Vicki says:

    Love your title page and wee bit about each of you. I am using Midnight as well as a touch of Honey for some colour. Look forward to seeing more of your PL pages. 🙂

  2. So glad to find another Project Lifer! Love your pages!

  3. Love you layouts. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

